Support At A Price


It used to be that help was free. Websites would have a contact form, the perfect solution for interacting with users, and giving users answers to questions asked. Fortunately, many businesses and organizations still provide free support. Unfortunately, wordpress.com does not. A recent message on the support page said:

We believe everyone deserves fantastic support for their WordPress.com blog. Our backlog of requests has consistently grown as our team of 10 receives nearly 8,000 messages a week. To get caught up and give our customers the support they expect with paid upgrades, we made the difficult decision to limit the contact form to customers with upgrades. Once we are caught up we will work on bringing a high level of support back for everyone.

8000 messages a week? As one commenter said on www.wpbtips.wordpress.com,

 Those numbers quoted by WP mean each member has to email/answer 160 posts/day; 8 hour workday = 20/hour = 3 minutes to type out each answer, and I imagine numbers of the answers are cut and paste-able repeats as I have seen in the forums. That *seems* very manageable, so perhaps this is just to push current subscribers into paid accounts before becoming an exclusively paid service? Only time will tell.

If their support really is that “fantastic”, it shouldn’t be too hard to answers support questions at the rate at one every three minutes. Experienced bloggers that help in the forums like timethief and raincoaster seem capable of answering questions that fast, and that’s not even their job. So it brings me to the conclusion that the wordpress.com support team is incompetent, or they just don’t care. And wordpress.com, I’m talking to you, your support isn’t that “fantastic” if you make your users pay for it. Especially when they used to get access to it for free.

“The best things in life are free. And the cheesiest things in life are free with a wordpress.com paid upgrade.”

You can quote me on that. I guess we all knew wordpress.com would be reduced to this. It must be the year 2012 at work…

Tags: ,

About CaptainXD

I'm a 17 year old full-time college student, cello player, soda drinker, soccer fanatic.

2 responses to “Support At A Price”

  1. iano10 says :

    Thanks for the comment. I agree with you that wordpress.com is a great blogging service. They have great hosting, I mean hey, this is a wordpress.com hosted blog. And they definitely have a lot of themes and options. But still, I don’t want to have to buy an upgrade so I can get help for my blog. I think that they should hire some more people for their “support team”, so they can meet the needs of their users.

  2. tribalstylemarketing says :

    Personally, I had a couple questions that I sent in early in my WordPress career. They got me to pretty quick within a few days & it turns out I’m just a dork & I knew the answer all along anyways. I don’t know, if we’re using a free service I guess we can’t complain too much. I bought a Domain map upgrade & couldn’t be happier so far. I think too many people want everything for nothing these days.

Leave a Reply

