Indiana Passes Right To Work Bill


The state of Indiana just passed House Bill 1001: Right to Work. Governor Mitch Daniels signed the  bill just the other day. This bill makes it an employees right to change unions, not have to pay the union dues, or pay to a third party, etc. This Bill has been controversial in Indiana; obviously the unions do not like it, but there are many who do, think it is one of our freedoms in America. Here is a summary posted on the Indiana Government website:

DIGEST OF HB 1001 (Updated February 1, 2012 11:49 am – DI 84)

Employee’s right to work. Makes it a Class A misdemeanor to require an individual to: (1) become or remain a member of a labor organization; (2) pay dues, fees, or other charges to a labor organization; or (3) pay to a charity or another third party an amount that represents dues, fees, or other charges required of members of a labor organization; as a condition of employment or continuation of employment. Provides that the Indiana department of labor may investigate and issue administrative orders for violations or threatened violations. Establishes a separate private right of action for violations or threatened violations. Provides that the statute does not apply to federal employees, employees subject to certain federal laws, certain employees over whom the federal government has jurisdiction, state employees, and employees of a political subdivision. Provides that the statute does not apply to the extent it is in conflict with or preempted by federal law. Provides that the statute is not intended, and should not be construed, to change or affect any other law concerning collective bargaining or collective bargaining agreements in the building and construction industry.

Current Status:

Law Enacted
About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

Leave a Reply

