Summer Vacation – For Better Or For Worse


A beautiful, lush jungle.My summer, was, for the most part, boring. Then again, spending half of it watching DirecTV wouldn’t live up to anybody’s standards. When I wasn’t watching tv, I was usually on my iPod (well, at least until the battery died). Then I’d plug it in to charge, and turn the television back on. As far as I was concerned, my schedule was full. Until summer camp came…

My week at camp was enjoyable, with some… “incidents” on the side. Namely, my friend Austin being attacked by a seven-year-old girl, the racoon fight outside the boys dorms, Brianna O. swearing in front of little kids, and her boyfriend, Danny, being hospitalized because he couldn’t breathe. But for the most part, camp was laid back and fairly quiet. My friends and I made regular trips each day to the camp store, and loaded up on soda and candy. Then we would head down to the creek and hang out. My friend Daniel and I liked to explore off-trail areas of camp. While we explored, Daniel found a machete, that featured a wicked, three-foot-long, slightly rusted steel blade. Well, I went away for a little while, and when I came back, I find Daniel chopping down small trees with it! Well, an adult found out, and Daniel got in pretty big trouble. And of course I stood up for him; and consequently, got in trouble too. Still, that didn’t stop me from having fun at camp, and I turned to other things such as water graffiti on the wooden bridge, and terrorizing kids with my water guns. The last day of camp could be summarized into losing the horseshoe tournament, and watching my friend Donovan pull up all of the camp’s tiki torches, and stick them in the creek, which was quite a laugh.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my summer camp experience, and if you have any questions, leave them in the comments. Thanks!

About CaptainXD

I'm a 17 year old full-time college student, cello player, soda drinker, soccer fanatic.

2 responses to “Summer Vacation – For Better Or For Worse”

  1. iano10 says :

    The machete was pretty awesome. It felt like we were explorers in the jungle, which was pretty sweet. Afterward, we got a real life scenario pounded into our skulls about how we could have stabbed ourselves, or bled to death, etc. Personally, didn’t care or think it would happen. But yeah, rules are rules. We also got banned from going to that part of the creek because it was “unsafe”, and other nonsense. That kinda sucked. Oh well…

  2. sunblade8 says :

    Well, finding random machetes sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

