Codecademy


Codecademy. Catchy. What in the world is it. Well, let me use an analogy to help you get the picture.

Your a teenager. You go to school every day, and learn. But what you really want to learn is computer programming. However, your school doesn’t offer a class on it. So you look on ebay for a book on computer programming. A book on computer programming!! Yeah I know, you’re desperate. So you search. Pop… a book! “This looks good” you think to yourself. You click checkout. You scroll down to click pay, and then you notice the price. $60!!. “Forget it, maybe I’ll be a professional athlete or somethin'”. You decide to check your emails. You’ve got one from your best friend. It reads:

“Hey man,

I found this totally awesome website, that is free and teaches you how to program with Javascript, Ruby, Python, HTML, CSS!!!!

I know your into that stuff so I thought I’d let you know.”

You start dancing, jumping, whatever. Your happy because now you have a great way to learn code. And its free. Now were talking.

So you type in: http://www.codecademy.com/#!/exercises/0

And now you’re the master at Java script, Ruby, Python, jQuery, HTML, and CSS.

So now were done with the analogy. And for most readers you are already gone ’cause your not a teenage kid who wants to learn coding. But if you are, and your still with me, then I totally suggest clicking the link or just searching codecademy on the web. Take it from someone like me, who’s a teenage kid, who loves coding, and has taken courses on Java, on codecademy.

var codecademy = function(){

console.log(“Codecademy is awesome!!);

};

codecademy()

Tags: , , ,

About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

6 responses to “Codecademy”

  1. iano10 says :

    Lol Ben I didn’t even write this post. Hudson did 😀

  2. cakebusters says :

    Ian I love you now….. dis be Ben lol THIS SAVED MY PROGRAMMING LIFFEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. iano10 says :

    Ok. I didn’t know if you were actually trying to add a prompt that popped up a message. Ooops. Oh, yeah I just tried it out and it is awesome!

  4. sunblade8 says :

    Sorry, I didn’t realize I was saying Java instead of Java Script, I don’t have much knowledge at all on different languages and such. The main point of the article was to let people who are trying to learn these codes (like you iano10), that codecademy is a great tool.
    I actually was not writing code so that it would run. I was just writing it to show an example of code.

  5. iano10 says :

    Sunblade8
    Unfortunately, wordpress doesn’t allow javascript (because they are stupid and don’t like letting programmers show their skills) so that’s why the code in the post didn’t appear. Oh, and isn’t that javascript, not java? They are a lot different.

  6. imacbain says :

    I’ll be checking out Codeacademy very soon especially if they do stuff on xml and soap along with other web services. You might also want to check out W3schools.com as they have loads of free tutorials on html, css, javascript and more coding programs too.

Leave a Reply

